Trash the Dress – Europe

Nicola Lambert Hyde – UK September 21, 2008

Filed under: Photographers,UK — amorphia @ 8:47 pm

Contributed by: Nicola Lamber Hyde – Dolly Photography

CHOOSING the wedding gown is arguably one of the most important decisions a bride will have to make – it has to be perfect, it has to have a ‘wow’ factor and it has to be memorable.
For most women, it will be the most expensive dress they ever buy – even budget brides pinch the pennies until they squeak to get their princess gown.
But – after the big day – the dress is safely stored and placed in the loft. Traditionally, brides kept it to make christening gowns for their firstborns – but now it’s more likely it will sit there forever, to be occasionally admired but never worn again.
But a new trend is emerging. Inspired by glossy magazines, brides are using their wedding gowns to do trendy fashion shoots.
The controversial Trash The Dress trend has already swept America with brides being photographed dousing their gowns in the ocean, tearing them to shreds and – in one image – setting it on fire.
In the UK, an increasing number of photographers are now offering the packages to brides – termed anything from Mess The Dress, Day After Shoots, Dangerous Bridals and Rock The Dress.
Nicola Hyde, of Dolly Photography, based in Barnsley, Yorkshire, says that British brides shouldn’t be scared off by the term.
She said: “I was married in October and the thought of deliberately ripping my dress makes me shudder. I do want to wear it again, I want to have fun with it – but it’s my special keepsake and I wouldn’t want anything bad to happen to it.
“When I hear the term Trash The Dress, I get a little squeamish myself, so something as simple as changing the wording of the trend could make a massive difference.
“I know of one lady who takes her wedding dress out every year on her anniversary and wears it for a few hours – but how much fun would she have doing a photoshoot in it?”
Nicola has photographed brides as late as almost four years after their big day.
One of these, Becky Hill, 26, from York, was married in 2004 but her tight budget didn’t allow for a photographer and she had no images that showed the detail of her dress.
She picked an urban location that would contrast with the prettiness of her gown and was instead photographed on a derelict train track and in a former industrial site in Barnsley.
She said: “I hadn’t worn my dress in over three years so it was quite meaningful to pop it on again and have some fun in it. Instead of doing my hair all pretty and pinned like it was on my wedding day, I wore my favourite vintage cowboy boots that were a family heirloom and went for really vampish make-up.”

Website
Blog

 

3 Responses to “Nicola Lambert Hyde – UK”

  1. jenny hallam Says:

    wonderful, beautiful, stunning…… could go on forever Nicola is a very hard working and talented young woman who strives to better herself constantly.. the care, thought and attention she gives each client is second to none and her determination to produce such beautiful and sometimes quirky styles in her work shines through constantly.. congratulations Nic and well done to all connected to this site for recognising her talent. Once more you make me proud to be your mum x

  2. Katy Downham Says:

    Hi there.

    I’m a second year journalism student in Surrey, England and am looking for some help on my assessment piece. I’m writing a piece on the difference between American and British Trash the Dress shoots. The feature wont be published it’s purely for class work only. I’m looking to interview a bride via email about her Trash the Dress experience. She doesn’t have to be named in the feature it can be completely anonymous. Any help or information you could give would be amazing.

    Thank You

    Katy Downham

  3. Ben May Says:

    I agree people in this country are too scared of this kind of thing (the UK) I want to do more of it it’s so much fun


Leave a Reply

